After reading the articles, I think podcasting has many advantages in 
education.  More and more college level teachers are recording lectures for students to listen to on iPods, computers, or other devices that allow it.  With lectures prerecorded, students can access them whenever they want to and also play back portions that they want/need to listen to again.  One article specifically mentioned the notes application in iPods, which allows for text to be included along with the podcasts.  Instructors can include lecture notes that can be read on the iPod, along with the lectures.  Podcasts also can be listened to while students are driving, exercising, or other another activity in which reading the material is not an option.  They also can be very beneficial for students who have auditory learning styles.  One disadvantage that I can see is that the student does not necessarily need to be present in class for lectures, which limits collaboration with fellow students in a classroom setting.  

I think it is great to see teachers embracing new technology to connect with 
students.  As a teacher, I do like to use technology in my classroom.  However, I it is important to me that the technology is easy to learn, works correctly, and helps enhance student learning.  

5/27/2012 02:28:33 pm

I think that the disadvantage that you discussed is very true but I think that students with similar courses would be able to collaborate in a blog type setting. I think that online classes would have the same disadvantage but I have been able to speak with many students that were in the same class as I was. For example, when I completed my B.S. degree, we would be put into learning groups and we were required to discuss topics and complete projects together. We were able to make it work either through email, conference calls or blogs. I think that it is not the same but it is not something that is going to hold back the student from being able to collaborate with fellow students.

Reply



Leave a Reply.