Last summer, myself, my wife, and her family went on an Alaskan cruise at the end of July.  We had a great time on the trip, sailing into many different ports along the way.  The picture above is of the Marjorie Glacier in Glacier Bay National Park.  Our ship was able to sail into the Bay and right up next to this glacier (closer than this picture shows).  We sat there for a while, and about every ten minutes or so, the ice would calve off of the sides of the glacier into the water.  When the ice hit the water, it sounded like a gunshot.  It was one of 
the most impressive things that I have ever seen.  

Here is a link to my Flickr photo sharing site
Sam Miller
5/18/2012 09:14:14 am

Derek,

This is a very beautiful picture. I would love to visit Alaska one day. Everyone I know that has been has nothing but good things to say about the state. My co-worker worked at Elmendorf-Richardson a joint Army and Air Force Base for about two years. He often talks about returning once his wife retires from the military. The clean air, great schools, and the laid back lifestyle really suited him.

Another good friend of mine played professional football in Alaska for two seasons for an indoor football league. After being cut from the Green Bay Packers he decided to give Alaska a shot after the owner made repeated attempts to sign him. He said it was the best experience of his life. He loved the scenery and enjoyed hunting expeditions with other teammates lead by old wily trackers.

He had a lot of other great stories probably not appropriate to post on your blog. But they were very funny to say the least.

Maybe one day in the future I will have the opportunity to go to Alaska and play softball under the midnight sun. Some of my softball buddies that have been stationed there rave about the 24 hour softball tournaments.

Reply
Steve Ruys
5/19/2012 06:51:26 am

My Grandfather always told us great stories about Alaska. He used to work up there as a hunter and trapper when he was in his 20's. My favorite story was when a bear chased him and two of his friends into a cabin they had built. They all had to jump out of windows and one of them was half-naked running through the snow.
I was invited to go on a fishing trip two years ago, but I was not able to get the time off. I hope to be able to take my family one of these days.

Reply
Ryan Frazer
5/20/2012 03:20:09 pm

Derek I found your picture to be awesome! I have a friend who lives in Anchorage Alaska and I have always wanted to go there. Hopefully one day I will get to go there and have a great experience as it seems you and your wife did.

Reply
Tim Morgan
5/20/2012 03:33:40 pm

Derek, what a great picture. I have always wanted to go to Alaska. It must have been unbelievable to see the glaciers crumble. I have always been intrigued by Alaska as well as glaciers, so I am pretty jealous right now.

Reply
Chris Cobb
5/20/2012 03:51:20 pm

Great picture. I have always heard cruises to Alaska are awesome. Would be a cool experience to be able to see glaciers that close!

Reply
Paul Walker
5/20/2012 04:30:19 pm

That sounds like an amazing trip Derek and the picture is awesome. I guess this begs the question though, why did you choose an Alaskan Cruise? I'm just joking. My wife and I have been talking about taking a cruise, but all of our destinations were tropical, and I didn't even know they did Alaskan cruises. Glad I got to learn something new and maybe I'll go on one someday.

Reply
Dana Ek
5/28/2012 12:00:12 pm

This picture reminds me of my Alaskan cruise when I was younger. It was a lot of fun. Alaska is a beautiful state. Hope to go on a cruise again sometime.

Reply



Leave a Reply.