I created a practice plan template in Google Docs that I can use for planning my basketball practices.  I found the program to be very user friendly.  It is just a simplified version of Microsoft Office (including spreadsheet and presentation programs).  Currently in my classroom, I have been teaching my students to use Microsoft Office software.  One of the things about using Office that has created a problem at times is when my students want to take their work home to finish.  In order to take it home, they have to email it, save it on a flash drive, and also have the program on their computer at home.  Google Docs makes it so this is not an issue.  All they need is a computer with Internet access to work on their document or presentation.  

I also like the easy file access because documents are saved in the cloud, not on a certain computer.  The file sharing options are another bonus, making it easy to share your document with others.   Best of all it is free.  The only disadvantage I see is that it is a very basic program and does not have all the bells and whistles that Office or iWork have to offer.  If you need to create a simple document, spreadsheet, or presentation, it gets the job done.           

Here is a link to the practice plan template I created.




Leave a Reply.